Energy and the new European Union countries

On May 1st, ten new countries joined the European Union. As for other sectors, this necessarily results in a transformation of the European energy landscape. The interior markets of these new UE countries open to companies from the other countries and the over way round is also true. Despite very tight agendas a few weeks away from the adhesion, political leaders in charge of energy from Cyprus, Czech republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania and Slovenia answered our questions about the status of the opening of the interior power and gas markets, energy efficiency and renewable energy policies, the situation relating to the European greenhouse gases emission trading system, involvement in the Kyoto protocol and foreign investments opportunities. For Poland, Slovaquia and Malta, we have shortly presented the energy sector status as noted by the European Commission in relation with the acquis communautaire.

Customer comments

No comments were found for Energy and the new European Union countries. Be the first to comment!