Geothermal Resources Council

Winners of Geothermal Energy Awards Announced


Source: Geothermal Resources Council

Best and brightest of the global geothermal community will be honored at the GRC Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Salt Lake City, Utah, USA -- The Geothermal Resources Council (GRC), one of the world’s premier geothermal associations, has announced awards honoring the best and brightest of the global geothermal energy community. These prestigious awards have been a highlight of the geothermal calendar since the late 1970's.

The GRC will present the prestigious Aidlin, Pioneer, Henry J Ramey Jr., Ben Holt, and Special Achievement awards at the GRC Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah, October 1-4.

The recipients of these awards have a lifetime of achievement in the geothermal academic, scientific and commercial communities. The GRC Awards recognizes the contributions of these individuals to educational institutions and the geothermal community around the world.

This year’s award winners are:

Joseph W. Aidlin Award 
Joseph N. Moore - For an unflagging commitment to the GRC, and outstanding contributions to the geothermal community through his teaching and research.

Geothermal Pioneer Award
James B. Koenig - For outstanding accomplishments in geothermal resources exploration, evaluation and development worldwide.

Henry J.  Ramey Jr. Award
Sabodh K. Garg - In recognition for outstanding contributions to reservoir and well data interpretation, and to modeling geothermal system behavior.

Ben Holt Award
Kevin Kitz, P.E. - For outstanding achievements in designing geothermal power plants, including innovative geothermal ORC power plants

Geothermal Special Achievement Award  
Dennis J. Gilles - For over 30 years of remarkable contributions to geothermal resources development and power plant operation.

Geothermal Special Achievement Award 
Elizabeth Johnson - In appreciation of her efforts to advance California geothermal energy development by working with local communities, government agencies, and developers for more than three decades as the Geothermal Officer for the Division of Oil, Gas, and Geothermal Resources.

Geothermal Special Achievement Award 
Joseph 'Skip' Matlick - In recognition for his 40 years of outstanding contributions to geothermal drilling and geology, and for being a mentor to many.

Geothermal Special Achievement Award 
Mack Kennedy - In recognition of remarkable contributions to the understanding of geothermal systems and selfless leadership in the geothermal research community.

GRC Special Citation Award
Alfredo Mainieri Protti - For his lifelong pioneering work and enduring achievements in Costa Rica’s geothermal power development.

For more information about the GRC Annual Meeting & GEA GeoExpo+ at the Salt Palace Convention Center, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA visit or call (530) 758-2360.


About the Geothermal Resources Council:

With the experience and dedication of its diverse, international membership bolstering a more than 40-year track record, the Geothermal Resources Council has built a solid reputation as one of the world’s preeminent geothermal associations. The GRC serves as a focal point for continuing professional development for its members through its outreach, information transfer and education services.

For more information, please visit

Get your daily geothermal news at Global Geothermal News []. Become a fan on Facebook []. Follow GRC on Twitter [#GRCAM2017 & @GRC2001]. Check out GRC’s YouTube Channel [].  See geothermal photos on GRC’s Flicker page. []


Customer comments

No comments were found for Winners of Geothermal Energy Awards Announced . Be the first to comment!